skip to content

On June 28th, 2017 we, Kathrin Schrage and Lisa-Marie Niestroj were elected as the main GSfBS doctoral candidates representatives. We are herewith members of the Promovierendenrat/Doctoral candidates council of the Math.-Nat. Faculty.
Eike Strathmann, Jennifer Gerbracht, Lisa Thelen, Michaela Höhne and Sabine Ruegenberg are the elected deputies.
You can contact us for ideas and suggestions regarding the GSfBS. We will collect your input and bring it to the attention of the GSfBS steering committee and/or office. Vice versa we will bring information or requests to your attention.
For the doctorate committee of the deanery, the newly formed steering committee of all umbrella graduate schools in the Math.-Nat. Faculty and AMGC committees concerning our interests, we will together with representatives of other graduate schools vote for delegates.

Our common email contact is

We offer appointments to meet: reserved dates are every last Thursday of a month at 5 p.m. til 6 p.m. in the seminar room Glaskasten 4th floor in the institute for genetics, Zülpicher Str. 47a

Lisa-Marie Niestroj

Lisa-Marie Niestroj completed her Bachelor studies in biology focusing on natural variations in pattern-triggered immunity in Arabidopsis thaliana at the Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research (MPIPZ) in Cologne. During her post-graduate studies in statistics and population genetics at the Cologne Center for Genomics (CCG), she investigated human genetic variation on an Indonesian island. Currently, Lisa-Marie is a PhD student in Prof. Dr. Nürnberg’s group (University of Cologne, CCG), working on computational epilepsy genetics.

Kathrin Schrage

Kathrin Schrage completed her Bachelor studies in Biology at the University of Cologne (Hasselmann lab). In 2015 she completed her Master studies in Anthropology at the Johannes Gutenberg-University in Mainz. During those studies she did a two month internship at the Institute of Genetics at the Medical University in Innsbruck. In August 2016 she started her PhD at the University of Cologne at the Institute of Biochemistry in the group of Dr. Sajid Hussain where she elucidates the role of different genetic mutations in the etiology of the Filippi syndrome and primary microcephaly.

Eike Strathmann

Eike Strathmann completed his Bachelor’s degree in biology at the Christian Albrechts University in Kiel. The focus of his thesis was on the ecology of the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans. After that, he completed his Master studies on evolutionary ecology and genetics. Bioinformatics was chosen as additional field of expertise. Eike wrote his Master thesis in the group of Prof. Dr. Hinrich Schulenburg studying the innate immunity of C. elegans. Subsequently, he moved abroad to do an internship at the Charles University in Prague in the laboratory of Dr. Marian Novotny, where Eike worked in the field of protein fold prediction. Currently, Eike is a PhD student in the group of Prof. Dr. Brunhilde Wirth in the institute of human genetics (University of Cologne).

Jennifer Gerbracht

Jennifer Gerbracht obtained her Bachelor’s degree in molecular biology at the Johannes Gutenberg-University in Mainz. She then moved to Cologne to pursue a Master’s degree in biological sciences with a focus on genetics and cell biology. During her postgraduate studies, she spent four months at Newcastle University (UK) investigating the genetic causes of skeletal dysplasias. Currently, she is a PhD student in Niels Gehring’s group at the Institute for Genetics at the University of Cologne. Her research focuses on mechanisms and processes that regulate the fate and stability of messenger RNAs in human cells.

Lisa Thelen

Lisa Thelen received her Bachelor degree in Applied Biology from the University of Applied Sciences Bonn-Rhein-Sieg and the Bachelor degree in Life Science from the HAN University of Applied Sciences in Nijmegen, The Netherlands. Her Bachelor thesis dealt with the DNA damage response in non-small cell lung cancer and was performed under the supervision of Prof. Christian Reinhardt, Department I of Internal Medicine, University Hospital Cologne. For her master thesis she joined the lab for Bio Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology of Prof. Nicole Teusch, Cologne University of Technology, Arts and Sciences, and worked on the pharmacological inhibition of Protease-activated Receptor 2 in the context of breast cancer. Currently she is working on her PhD under the supervision of Dr. Tamina Seeger-Nukpezah, who is a junior research group leader in the Department I of Internal Medicine, University Hospital Cologne. Her research focuses on the role of the adapter protein NEDD9 in healthy and transformed B lymphocytes. 

Michaela Höhne

Michaela Höhne obtained her Bachelor´s degree in BioSciences at the University of Kaiserslautern, where she also completed her Master studies in Molecular Cell and Neurobiology.  Currently, she pursues her PhD at the Institute of Biochemistry in the group of Prof. Dr. Jan Riemer (University of Cologne), investigating the regulation of mitochondrial hydrogen peroxide release and its role for signaling in mammalian cells using roGFP2-based sensors.

Sabine Ruegenberg

Sabine studied in Cologne and Vienna and obtained her M. Sc. degree in Biological Sciences with a specialization in biochemistry and biotechnology from the University of Cologne. During her Master’s studies she joined the research group of Dr. Martin Denzel at the Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing and in March 2016 she started her PhD in Martin Denzel’s group. Her research focuses on the structural and functional analysis of the enzyme Glutamine fructose-6-phosphate aminotransferase-1 (GFAT-1).